Human errors cause the vast majority of car accidents – approximately 94 percent. Although driver mistakes take many forms, from texting to speeding and making illegal turns, the most deadly error is driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration show that drunk driving has become deplorably common: In 2014, nearly 10,000 people died in alcohol-related car accidents. This means drunk drivers cause almost one-third of all road fatalities; in fact, one person dies in a drunk-driving crash every 53 minutes.
This is why Nevada courts impose harsh penalties on defendants who are convicted of DUI. A driver aged 21 or older could face DUI charges if caught operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or higher. Drivers who are younger than 21 could face DUI charges if their BAC is 0.02 or higher. It is illegal to drive a commercial motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 or higher.
If a drunk driver causes a crash that injures another person, then the victim can pursue compensation by making a personal injury claim against the at-fault motorist. If a drunk driver kills another person, then the victim’s estate can file a wrongful death lawsuit.
If you were injured by a drunk driver or lost a family member in a drunk-driving accident, contact Ed Bernstein & Associates. Our firm has been representing injured Nevadans for more than 40 years. Call 702-240-0000 to schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced Las Vegas personal injury lawyer.
Why Is Drunk Driving So Dangerous?
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, most people reach the legal limit when they have consumed about four alcoholic drinks. At that point, it is likely that a person will:
- Suffer reduced muscle coordination;
- Find it harder to recognize danger;
- And suffer impaired judgment and a lack of self-control.
Driving under the influence is a dangerous practice that puts the driver’s life, the lives of his or her passengers, and the lives of other road users at risk.
What Are the Penalties for a Frist DUI Conviction in Nevada?
Depending on the nature of the offense, the consequences of a first DUI conviction in Nevada include:
- Two days to six months of jail time or 96 hours of community service;
- DUI school;
- Possible order to attend substance abuse treatment;
- Driver’s license fee, testing fee and reinstatement feel (~$190 total);
- $400 to $1,000 in fines;
- SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance requirement;
- $35 Victims Compensation Civil Penalty;
- Order to install an ignition interlock device;
- And a license revocation for 90 days.
These penalties are worse if the defendant has multiple DUI convictions within seven years.
If you were injured by a drunk, distracted or otherwise negligent driver in Nevada, contact a personal injury lawyer from Ed Bernstein & Associates. An experienced accident attorney from our firm will help you claim compensation for medical bills, lost wages and other damages.
Our law firm has helped thousands of injured clients. Call 702-240-0000 today to schedule a free initial consultation.